Home | Keeping Children Safe | Safeguarding


Berwick Hills Care Team is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare children.

Miss Tessa Smith: Headteacher

Mrs Jane Parker-Hack: Deputy Headteacher, SENDCo, Designated Person for Child Protection and Looked After Children

Miss Paula Davidson: Family Services Lead

Miss Frankie Lee:  Parent Support Advisor

Mrs Sara Dawson: Emotional and Behaviour Support

Mrs Hayley Hughes: EYFS Team Leader

Miss Christine Close KS1 Team Leader

Mrs Louise Wootten KS2 Team Leader

Miss Rebecca Dickson: Upper KS2 Team Leader

Mrs Gina Sullivan: School Counsellor

Mr Ian Mawson: Governor for Safeguarding


Mental Health First Aiders

Paula Davidson

Catriona Blakely


Emotional Literacy Support Assistant

Hannah Johnson



The purpose of the Care Team is to keep children safe, help them to be happy and thrive at school. Meeting regularly, the Care Team ensures that children’s happiness, welfare and safety is at the heart of the work of Berwick Hills Primary School.


We work closely with parents/carers and are always available to offer support and advice. We work closely with external agencies available to the school to ensure our children and their families receive the support they need to succeed.  The Care Team supports children by ensuring that playtimes are a positive experience and that issues between children are resolved. We offer support to children who are reluctant learners or experiencing difficulties that are impacting on their well-being and happiness. We support all school staff in implementing the behaviour policy in order to promote the ethos of the school.


In addition to the Care Team, the Inclusion team supports children’s learning, removing barriers to ensure all children achieve their potential (see Inclusion Policy).